a Quickie w/ shariallsmiles : My FAVE lasagna

Since I’m American/Caribbean – cooking Italian is soooooo not on my radar, but I LA-A-OVE lasagna. Its my ‘favorite’ food. Since I’ve been in semi-homemaker mode lately, I decided to make my Kroger Brand Lasagna. I call it that because I literally buy just about every major ingredient from there. I would usually add a ton of random vegetables to my marinara sauce, but I kept it simple this go ’round, and I think it came out great. The Farmer’s Market had string beans for $1 a pound, so I couldn’t resist. I overroasted them in the oven with black pepper, salt, and some Ms. Dash Chipotle-something that I’d never heard of,  for what should have been about 10-12 minutes, but ended up being 15-17……..xoxo

1 box  Kroger Brand Wheat Lasagna

1 can  Kroger Brand Italian Style Sliced Tomatoes

1/2 jar of Kroger Brand Roasted Red Pepper Marinara Sauce

1 pkg Kroger Brand Ground Beef

1 bag Kroger Brand Shredded Cheese

1 bag Kroger Brand Shredded Mexican Style Cheese

* I only season the meat when I make this lasagna. I put the meat and seasonings in a ziploc bag and refrigerate over night before cooking. (I’ll add a  little salt once I combine it with the marinara & tomatoes if needed) :

1/2 green pepper diced

1/2 to 1 tsp of each :

Minced Garlic

Garlic Granulated

Herb de Provence

Sea Salt

Oregano

Parley

Spike

Adobo

Black Pepper

Cayenne Pepper

I saute’ the ground beef in a skillet until brown, then add the tomatoes and marinara sauce. I let that simmer for about 5-8 minutes, while my pasta is boiling. Once they’re both done, I layer in my Pyrex ( Pasta -> Ground beef/Marinara -> Cheese — I fit 3 layers in my little Pyrex this time) , then bake on 350 until the edges of the top layer of cheese are brown. And that’s it. 🙂

DSC04911ImageImage?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????   Image

Leave a Reply

