In my Make-up Chair : Clean Makeup Brushes

My month of March and these few days in April have been consumed with a lay off from my job, new relationship bickering with the beau, and the decision to move out of my home of 4 years. I don’t feel stressed about things, but my body is reacting to this disruption of my regularly scheduled programming: I’m grinding my teeth – producing headaches, I almost fainted while on my weekly Ross Dress for Less run, and the constant packing was making me feel worn out. So today, I decided to chill out. No job hunting. No packing. No leaving my house. No worries. Alleviating those things allowed time to catch up on some ‘me’ things that I’ve been wanting to do.

1. Cleaning my makeup brushes. We all know that dirty brushes can lead to clogged pores and breakouts, so I hate to even admit it, but I literally have not deep cleaned my make-up brushes in over a year.  I’ve spray cleaned them with ‘brush cleaner’ every now and then, but not really deep cleaned them. Luckily, I haven’t had any major breakouts, but they still needed to be cleaned. I watched a brush cleaning tutorial on YouTube by MichellePhan where she’s cleaning her brushes with dish liquid and olive oil. I decided to use Almond Oil instead for additional moisture for the bristles, and followed up with my favorite hair conditioner, Aussie 3 Minute Recon – again, for moisture. And they feel amazing. They feel softer than when I bought them initially. 🙂

IMG_20130327_170520 IMG_20130404_093836 IMG_20130404_094528 IMG_20130404_095857 IMG_20130404_102518

2. I’ve been wanting to incorporate some type of facial treatment into my health/beauty/hair – journey/regimen ( I can’t keep up with what I’m doing anymore, lol). I don’t usually have skin problems, but ever so often I’ll have random breakouts or a reaction to something that I ate or drink. I just figure, if I’m putting effort into taking care of my hair and the inside of my body, why not pay a little more attention to my skin?? I’m not gettin’ any younger!! One of my girlfriends sent me this link to Patricia Bright’s YouTube tutorial for Natural treatment for dark marks & large pores: Avocado, Lemon & Lime!!! Now, I don’t have large pores, but sometimes I get small dark marks as a result of ill managed breakouts. I kept it on my face for about an hour before washing it off, then followed up with the lemon juice, glycerine, rose water toner that she suggested. I’ll use that toner for the next few days to see if there are any changes in my skin. Although its unflattering, this will be my before picture. :\

IMG_20130404_161736IMG_20130404_162910 IMG_20130404_163641lemlimavo mask day one

Tomorrow, maybe at-home teeth whitening?? 🙂 ………xoxo

3 comments

  1. emily w. · · Reply

    you need to start doing videos too!

    1. omigah, are you crazy!! lol.. im not getting paid and no one wants to see a video of me!! 🙂

  2. video’s would be a great idea! love your blog by the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

