In my Make-Up Chair : Highlighting

I’m always surprised when people ask me questions about my various ‘routines’ or ‘regimens’ based on pictures that I’ve posted on social networks. I just assume that people don’t really pay attention to what I’m doing, and as vain as it sounds – I’m usually posting for myself anyway. 😉 So I had a few people ask about how I apply my day to day (not everyday) make-up. Make-up is something that I know very little about, but am learning more & more along the way. Lately, I’ve been intrigued with highlighting and how/where light hits the face. Everyone has so many different techniques – in combination with different skin tones and textures, but for right now – I’m loving this technique and I didn’t have to buy anything new!! And it only takes about 10 minutes…… xoxoImage

For highlighting, I used:

  • My regular foundation powder
  • A lighter liquid based foundation or concealer
  • Brushes: Kabuki, Foundation, & Powder

Image

1. Setting mist, then light coverage w/ MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation NW50

Image

2. To highlight, I used L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Compact Makeup C6. ( I originally bought it to use as a foundation, but it was too light for my complexion) With a foundation brush, I applied to my t-zone, the center of my forehead, under my eyes, my temples, and underneath the arch of my eyebrows.

Image

3. I blended the ‘highlighting foundation’ with the foundation brush, then evened out with a kabuki brush. Then, I set with another light layer of Mac Studio Fix Powder Plus using a powder brush.

Image

4. Applied a little blush (Bobbi Brown Cranberry) to the checks & used the blush to contour (still learning about contouring)  around the highlighted line down my nose/t-zone. Two layers of mascara and that’s it.

One comment

  1. emily w. · · Reply

    I love it!!! you need to start making some money off of this site!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

