a quickie w/ shariallsmiles : ‘Healthy’ Meatloaf & Mashed Cauliflower

I lowkey love meatloaf. Like, LOVE it. It’s my second favorite food. Meatloaf is so easy to make, but the last few times that I’ve craved it, I just went out and bought it – pre-made :/.  So to make-up for it, I decided to make a ‘healthy meatloaf’. I’m not sure how healthy it is, considering I still used ketchup – but either way it was yummy. Oh, and the mashed cauliflower, I’ve been wanting to try it for awhile. And it is literally just as creamy and tasted like real mashed potatoes!! ….xoxo

???????????????????????????????For the meatloaf I used :

  • 1 cup of blended raw oatmeal
  • 1/2 of a green pepper diced
  • 1 medium sized zuchinni shredded
  • 2 small carrots shredded
  • a small piece of ginger shredded
  • 1 brown egg
  • 1/2 lb of lean ground beef
  • 1/2 lb of ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup of ketchup (not pictured)
  • a various seasonings (salt, pepper, herb de provence, etc)

??????????????????????????????? I mixed it all together with my hands, threw it in a pan, squirted some ketchup on top, and baked in the oven on 350 for about 50 minutes.

??????????????????????????????? (hate that I tasted it before the picture, but I was hungry 😉 )

DSC05620For the mashed cauliflower I used:

  • 1 head of cauliflower chopped into chunks
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1/2 tbsp of greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp milk ( I used Rice Milk)
  • 1 tsp of butter
  • a couple dashes of black pepper and garlic granulated

I brought the garlic clove and about a cup of water to boil, then added the cauliflower and let it simmer for about 30 minutes on medium heat. Once the water was mostly evaporated, I used a fork to mash the cauliflower. It gets really tender so you don’t have to do much mashing. Then I added the remaining ingredients and mixed it all together. ??????????????????????????????? It was pretty darn good.

Leave a Reply

