a quickie w/ shari : baked spicy meatballs w/ spaghetti squash

I absolutely love these meatballs. Actually, I love meatballs period. I remember having friends over one night in high school and not knowing what we wanted to eat, so I whipped up some homemade meatballs real quick. I’m sure that they weren’t as good as these though ūüôā . I kept seeing spaghetti squash all over Pinterest, so I gave it a try since I’m limiting my pasta intake anyway. You’ll need :

  • 1 pound ground¬†turkey
  • 1 pound ground¬†spicy sausage
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup¬†almond milk
  • 1/4 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 rolled oats ( I always use oatmeal when I bake turkey)
  • 1 cup of chopped raw spinach
  • ¬†salt
  • ¬†pepper
  • ¬†onion powder
  • ¬†garlic powder
  • ginger powder
  • and probably some other seasonings that I keep on hand ( adobo, spike, etc)
  • olive oil
  1. Preheat your oven to 450. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray with olive oil. I like using foil solely because I want to keep my baking pans in good condition. ūüėČ
  2. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. I use my hands, but I’m sure that a cooking utensil is fine. I formed golf ball sized meatballs and placed it on the pan.
  3. Baked at 450 for about 30 minutes or until brown.

20151101_161644

4. I then stewed the cooked meatballs in a saucepan with tomato sauce ( about 3 cups), 1 roughly chopped roma tomato, and chopped onions for 15 minutes.

The spaghetti squash is super easy to make. Just cut the squash in half , season with salt, pepper, and olive oil. Then bake on 350 for about 45 minutes. Once its cooled, gently fork the flesh out and serve.

20151101_16281020151101_165358

Leave a Reply

