a quickie w/ shari : caribbean (vegetarian) collard greens

So, I’m born and raised in Atlanta, but my roots are in the Caribbean. Collard greens weren’t really on the menu in my house growing up. And although I cook alot, greens still weren’t on my menu! I dunno what prompted me to want to make greens one day, but I took bits & pieces of how I thought that I’d seen my Trinidadian grandmother and step-mother make it before and it turned out delicious!

  • 1 -2 bunches of collard greens
  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 3 garlic cloves diced
  • 1/2 medium red onion diced
  • 1 vine tomato roughly chopped
  • 1/2 – 1 cup almond milk ( she used coconut milk)
  • 1 cup of vegetable broth ( if needed)
  • coconut oil
  • 1 scotch bonnet pepper
  • salt, black pepper, spike, garlic powder
  • 1 – 2 tsp of cayenne pepper
  • did I mention that there is no meat ?!!?

* Note : Sometimes I don’t always have exact measurements of everything because I don’t cook with exact measurements. Just season to taste and use your best judgement! 

  1. I cleaned and rinsed every collard green leaf by hand. I was so paranoid about getting dirt in the greens, that I didn’t want to take a chance. Then removed the spine, rolled a few leaves together, and sliced into ribbons. I did the same for the kale.
  2. Heat 2 tablespoons of coconut oil on medium-hot heat in a skillet and add onions & garlic. Also add the scotch bonnet, but make sure that it doesn’t burst!! (You just want the heat from the pepper) Saute and stir for about 7-9 minutes, then remove the pepper. A lot of people leave the pepper in there, just keeping an eye on it to make sure that it doesn’t burst, but I’ve had a bad experience with scotch bonnets that exploded, so I don’t even risk it. I supplemented heat with the cayenne pepper.
  3. Add greens, kale, tomato, seasonings, and coconut milk. Bring to boil, then reduce heat to low and let simmer for about 45 minutes.

 

IMG_20151122_09061820151122_130405

( dont mind my feet, lol)

Leave a Reply

