a quickie w/ shari : jerk chicken burgers, well sandwiches

I did a water fast a couple of weeks ago and on one of my hungriest nights, I planned out my meals for the next few weeks. One of those meals : jerk chicken burgers w/ healthy coleslaw; made with ground chicken, homemade jerk seasoning, and a healthy coleslaw that consisted of cabbage, carrots, sesame oil, and toasted sesame & sunflower seeds. LOVE the slaw, but I forgot how much I dislike the texture of ground chicken.

IMG_20160313_191758

The jerk taste yummy though, so I decided to just shred some chicken breast, jerk that, and throw it on some bread instead. 😉  (The burgers aren’t going to waste, but I’m not eating them!) The flavors of my homemade jerk seasoning are great, but I know that a true Jamaican might have some critiques!  I need to get a lesson from them one of these days. So, if you’re looking for a mild, flavorful jerk seasoning recipe, here it is :

* Note : Sometimes I don’t always have exact measurements of everything because I don’t cook with exact measurements. Just season to taste and use your best judgement! 

I used just about a tablespoon of each, unless specified

  • curry powder
  • paprika
  • ground cumin
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • cayenne pepper
  • 2 tsp dried thyme ( fresh from my potted garden 🙂 )
  • brown sugar
  • 1.5 tsp of salt
  • 1.5 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1.5 tsp dry mustard
  • 1.5 tsp ground allspice
  • 2 tsp of minced garlic
  • olive oil
  • vegetable broth – to thin it out a bit, if needed
  • I also added a tsp of pre-made jerk seasoning to help out a little bit 😉

I mixed it all together in a bowl and marinated the chicken with part of it. The rest, I added to the meat as I shredded.

IMG_20160314_203724

Leave a Reply

