diy w/ shari : Deer Wallmount with Floral Crown

Long story short, I bought a house last year! 🤗🏡 2016 was a helluva year, but I was blessed enough to have set a goal of buying a house in 2016 and actually doing it! I might blog about the process later, but for now, I’m excited about all of the Pinterest inspired DIY projects that I’ve been saving in anticipation of having my first home. 🙂

I’m not really into taxidermy or seeing dead animals up on the wall, but I slowly started falling in love with the faux animal wall mount trend that’s been a buzz lately. I had to have one in my home! Check it out here on Pinterest, if you have no clue what I’m talking about.

I narrowed down my choices between a faux longhorn skull or a deer head. And honestly, I still really love the skull, but it was over $150, so my stinginess really made the decision for me. Found a deer head at Z-Gallerie that was within my budget and available for pickup the same day.

I knew immediately that “Jerry” would have some element of GOLD… because I’m obsessed with gold accents, so gold spraypainted antlers would be perfect. And I knew that he would wear a flower crown. Because I’m a lowkey hoarder, I’d had a few faux flowers leftover from a flower crown project a couple of years ago. I glued those to his head with the hot glue gun and that was it! Super simple.

So I fall in love with Jerry and get him up on my updated basement wall – another DIY project of mine; found a wood panel wallpaper that I applied for a change of texture down there –  and not more than 5 minutes later, I heard a crash and Jerry was in pieces on the floor! He lost his antlers and an ear! For some reason, it could have been impatience, but I could not get the antlers back together. I tried gorilla glue, super glue, hot glue, crazy clue and nothing worked, so Jerry became Geri and I made sure to mount her correctly the 2nd time! 😜                                                                                      xoxo💋

IMG_20170419_080208

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

